Best Cricket Tournaments In The World Right Now

Cricket is a game that has been played all over the world for centuries. It is a sport that demands patience, skill, and precision. It’s also one of the most popular sports in India, where the oldest cricket club was founded in 1864 by the Englishman Thomas Lord. Today, India has many different types of tournaments happening each year such as domestic competitions like Ranji Trophy and Deodhar Trophy; international matches like World Cup, and bilateral series between Australia/New Zealand tour India.

There are no competitions when we talk about cricket. And, the love for cricket is not limited to Indians alone. It is a worldwide game that is played and watched by millions. The ICC world cup happens once in four years and there are other international series too. However, many competitions in India are loved by the fans. Here is a list of the top 10 best cricket tournaments in India right now as per cricket news now:

World Cup

The ICC World Cup is the flagship tournament of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The World Cup was first held in 1975 and has been held every four years since, after the end of the previous World Cup.

The format for each edition has varied with one exception: there have always been eight teams playing at least one match per group stage, with promotion/relegation between groups based on results. The top two teams from each group qualify for the semi-finals where they play against each other; if both teams win their matches then it goes straight to a final match where either team can win (if they are still alive). In addition, there will also be two knockout rounds where countries play across three days over two different venues – one home venue per country plus another neutral venue somewhere else around India or elsewhere.

ICC World Twenty20

The ICC World Twenty20 is a cricket tournament that takes place every four years. It’s the world’s second most popular Twenty20 competition and was first held in 2007. The next edition will be held in 2020, so if you haven’t already signed up for it yet, now would be a good time!

The format of this tournament has changed over time, but its main focus remains on one-day matches played over five days (like most other forms of cricket).

Champions Trophy

The Champions Trophy is an international cricket tournament that has been held every two years since 1998. It is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and played between the top eight teams in Test cricket, ODI, and T20I formats.

The first Champions Trophy was held in 1998 after India became world champions for the first time since 1982. The most recent edition was played in 2013 where India won it with a 2-1 victory over Australia after they beat South Africa in a thriller final match at Edgbaston Stadium Birmingham England on 3rd June 2013.

Indian Premier League (IPL)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the biggest cricket tournament in the world, and it’s one of the most popular sports in India. It’s so popular that it has a dedicated national broadcaster.

IPL was started in 2008 by the Indian media company Network18 Group, which also owns ESPNcricinfo. It features 8 teams from around India: Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils/Kings XI Punjab/Rajkot Royal Challengers, etc., playing against each other in a total of 60 matches over 12 weeks every year—the last day is called “first Sunday” because Monday would have been a Sunday if there were no match(s) scheduled for Monday morning!

Ashes Series

The Test cricket series played between England and Australia is known as the ashes series. It is one of the most famous rivalries in the history of the sport. The first Test match was played in 1877 at The Oval.

The Ashes Series is usually held every four years. Still, there have been exceptions as both teams have been involved in global events like World War I and II, the Boxing Day Test (which was canceled due to rain), and more recently because of terrorism concerns affecting several countries around the Asia Pacific region where it was originally scheduled to be held.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy is the official name of the series played between India and Australia. It’s played in India in February-March, and in Australia in October-November. The first two games were played in 1956, with a three-year break between them due to World War II (1939–1945). From then on, it has been an annual affair except for one year when they had to wait until 1969 before getting back at each other again.

The current holders are India who won their first match against Australia by four wickets thanks to a century from Virender Sehwag who scored his fourth triple-century during this game!

Asia Cup

The Asia Cup is a Day International cricket tournament that was started by the International Cricket Council in 1984. The Asia Cup has been held 19 times so far and was held again in 2020.

The next edition of the tournament will take place from 25th February to 1st March 2020, with Pakistan taking on Bangladesh at Mirpur Stadium.

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL)

The Bangladesh Chief Association is an expert Twenty20 cricket association in Bangladesh. It was founded in 2012 and is the top flight of the Bangladesh cricket league system. The Bangladesh Cricket Board is an organizer for BPL.

The tournament was originally sponsored by Bangladeshi clothing manufacturer Sunsilk, but as of 2018, it has been sponsored by Gillette.

It replaced BKSPL T20 League (BKSPL) as a top-level domestic cricket competition in Bangladesh.

CPL – Caribbean Premier League Twenty20

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is a franchise Twenty20 cricket tournament established in 2013 and played in the Caribbean. The CPL has been held in various countries of the Caribbean, including Barbados, Jamaica, and Trinidad. Six teams compete in each season: Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St Lucia Zouks, Leeward Islands Hawks and Trinbago Knight Riders from Guyana; Leewards Hurricanes from Antigua; Jamaica Tallawahs from Jamaica; North Sound Sharks from Saint Kitts & Nevis.


As you can see, there are plenty of great cricket tournaments in India right now. You should try to register for some of them and enjoy watching the best players in the world compete against each other.

Know all about cricket betting and updates at CBTF.

Get the fastest cricket news update at

Know all about cricket updates at CBTF.

Checkout our videos to get the latest updates about cricket tips to win big with expert opinions at

Related Articles

Back to top button